God’s Character

See now that I, even I, am he, and there is no god beside me; I kill and I make alive; I wound and I heal; and there is none that can deliver out of my hand.

Deuteronomy 32:39 (ESV)

I yearn that we’d all have an ever increasing understanding of God’s true character as one who both blesses and curses. It’s so painfully obvious to so many unbelievers that God’s hand is active in things we label as bad/evil, yet believers often are void of the ability to offer any explanation, preferring instead to ignore such things and go on talking only of His blessing.

I’m SO grateful for God’s grace and love, but let us never take lightly His sovereignty. He answers to no one and nothing, least of all us and our “understanding”.

Don’t be caught seeking His blessing… seek HIM. Ask for understanding and don’t ignore the “hard parts” of the Bible. It’s a gift to help us know more of He that is otherwise unknowable.

God help us when we try and fit You into our plans and thoughts. Let us be quicker to seek your face and character. Help us get an accurate picture of your character and heart rather than a comfortable one.

One thought on “God’s Character

Leave a Reply

